About Mathematics and Statistics

Mathematics is one of the most enduring fields of study, and is essential in an expanding number of disciplines and professions. Many mathematicians continue to expand our knowledge of the field by developing new results. But today, mathematicians also combine their knowledge of mathematics and statistics with modelling and computational skills and use the latest computer technology to solve problems in the physical and biological sciences, engineering, information technology, economics, and business.

Mathematics is located in the Priestley Building (Building No. 67) on the St Lucia Campus. All enquiries and deliveries should be directed to:

Mathematics Office
Level 6
Priestley Building (Building No. 67)
The University of Queensland
St Lucia, Queensland, 4072

Alternatively, you can contact Mathematics by phone +61 7 3365 3277, fax +61 7 3365 1477 or email admin@maths.uq.edu.au.

Our Research

At UQ we focus on areas including

  • Algebra and Number Theory
  • Combinatorics
  • Financial Mathematics
  • Geometric and Nonlinear Analysis
  • Computational Geometry and Topology
  • Mathematical Biology
  • Mathematical Education
  • Mathematical Material Science
  • Mathematical Physics
  • Scientific Computing and Numerical Modelling
  • Probability and Statistics

Click here for more information about our research.

Our Courses

The School of Mathematics and Physics is committed to providing students with the highest quality teaching and learning standards through dedicated and award-winning lecturers, as well as through access to the latest research and world-class resources.

Click here to view the Mathematics and Statistics course listing for 2016.

Maths Colloquium Series

The Maths Colloquium is the main event of the Maths Department. It is directed to students and academic staff working in pure and applied mathematics and statistics. The aim is to present expository lectures appealing to this broad audience.

Click here to view our upcoming events.

Our Mathematics Academic Staff

For more information about our Mathematics academic staff, see the list below.

Click here for a full list of our staff at the School of Mathematics and Physics, including our Honorary, Emeritus, and Professional Staff.

Callers from outside the University will need to add a prefix to the extension number provided.

For extension 5xxxx, eg. 56789, add 336 = 336-56789

For extension 6xxxx, eg. 67890, add 334 = 334-67890

From outside Queensland
The prefix is 07 eg. 3365 6789 = 07 3365 6789

From outside Australia
The prefix is +61 7 eg. 3365 6789 = +61 7 3365 6789

Staff Member Position Building/Room Phone E-mail
Professor Peter Adams Associate Dean, Academic, Faculty of Science 69-Lvl 2 53276 p.adams@uq.edu.au
Dr Davids Agboola Postdoctoral Research Fellow 67-640 - d.agboola@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Sarat Babu Moka Postdoctoral Research Fellow 67-742 53251 s.babumoka@uq.edu.au
Dr Paul Bryan Postdoctoral Research Fellow Priestley-67-650 33819 paul.bryan@uq.edu.au
Professor Darryn Bryant VC Senior Research Fellow 67-540 51342 db@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Michael Bulmer Senior Lecturer, Chief Academic Advisor Undergraduate BSc BA Mathematics 67-754 57905 m.bulmer@uq.edu.au
Professor Benjamin Burton Professor 67-547 51164 bab@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Vivien Challis Australian Postdoctoral Fellow 69-703 336 52302 vchallis@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Duy-Minh Dang Senior Lecturer (Director of the Master of Financial Mathematics Program) 67-752 52686 duyminh.dang@uq.edu.au
Dr Matthew Dean Affiliate Academic 67-742 53251 mdean@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Diane Donovan Associate Professor, Chair of Engagement and Internationalisation Committee 67-653 51354 dmd@maths.uq.edu.au
Professor Jerzy Filar Director Centre for Applications in Natural Resource Mathematics 69-815 07 336 52236 j.filar@uq.edu.au
Dr Michael Forbes Senior Lecturer 69-711 56128 m.forbes@uq.edu.au
Dr Roxane Foulser-Piggott Honorary Fellow ------- --- r.foulserpiggott@uq.edu.au
Dr Cecilia González Tokman Lecturer 67-545 53271 cecilia.gt@uq.edu.au
Professor Geoff Goodhill Professor 79-424C 66431 g.goodhill@uq.edu.au
Professor Mark Gould Professor 67-651 52424 m.gould1@uq.edu.au
Professor Joseph Grotowski Head of School 06-206 53260 j.grotowski@uq.edu.au
Dr Samuel Hambleton Associate Lecturer 67-756 52309 sah@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Poh Wah Hillock Lecturer 67-448 53337 p.hillock@uq.edu.au
Dr Matthew Holden Lecturer 69-813 51386 m.holden1@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Min-Chun Hong Coordinator of Nonlinear analysis and PDE group 69-707 69036 hong@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Alan Huang Statistics Major Convenor 67-748 52315 alan.huang@uq.edu.au
Dr Phil Isaac Lecturer 67-446 53267 psi@maths.uq.edu.au
Mr Michael Jennings Lecturer 67-449 53255 msj@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Masoud Kamgarpour Senior Lecturer, Honours Co-ordinator 69-714 56130 masoud@uq.edu.au
Mr Samuel Kault Lecturer 67-546 336 53252 s.kault@uq.edu.au
Dr Je Guk Kim ACEMS Research Fellow 67-742 53251 jeguk.kim@uq.edu.au
Professor Dirk Kroese Professor 67-745 53287 kroese@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Sharon Lee ARC DECRA Fellow 67-749 53279 s.lee11@uq.edu.au
Dr Kaleb Leemaqz 67-749 336 53279 k.leemaqz@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Jon Links Research Fellow, Director - Centre of Mathematical Physics, Mathematics Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator 69-701 52400 jrl@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Barbara Maenhaut Lecturer 67-549 53258 bmm@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Ian Marquette Postdoctoral research fellow 69-807 67952 i.marquette@uq.edu.au
Dr Keith Matthews Honorary Senior Lecturer --- - k.matthews@uq.edu.au
Dr Clare Anne McGrory Lecturer 69-810 53265 c.mcgrory@uq.edu.au
Professor Geoff McLachlan Australian Professorial Fellow 67-743 52150 g.mclachlan@uq.edu.au
Dr Peter McNamara Lecturer 69-713 336 57506 p.mcnamara@uq.edu.au
Dr Ross McVinish Research Fellow 67-751 53116 r.mcvinish@uq.edu.au
Dr Amir Moghaddam 69-814A 56138 a.moghaddam1@uq.edu.au
Dr Yoni Nazarathy Senior Lecturer, Industry Liaison 67-753 69032 y.nazarathy@uq.edu.au
Dr Zoltan Neufeld ARC Future Fellow 69-710 51349 z.neufeld@uq.edu.au
Dr Dietmar Oelz Lecturer 69-708 53262 d.oelz@uq.edu.au
Professor Phil Pollett Professor of Mathematics, Node Leader, Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Mathematical and Statistical Frontiers (ACEMS) 67-652 53459 pkp@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Artem Pulemotov Senior Lecturer; ARC DECRA Fellow 67-346 53270 a.pulemotov@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Jorgen Rasmussen Mathematics postgraduate coordinator 69-709 58506 j.rasmussen@uq.edu.au
Professor Anthony Richardson ARC Future Fellow 69-809 52587 ajr@maths.uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Anthony Roberts Head of Mathematics 67-647 53263 apr@maths.uq.edu.au
Ms Melanie Robertson-Dean Tutor Co-ordinator 67-447 53266 m.robertsondean@uq.edu.au
Dr Fred Roosta 67--548 53259 fred.roosta@uq.edu.au
Dr Victor Scharaschkin Lecturer, Honours Co-ordinator 67-544 52321 victors@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Godfrey Smith 69-546 0437 625 123 g.smith8@uq.edu.au
Dr Thomas Taimre Lecturer 67-451 52313 t.taimre@uq.edu.au
Dr Slava (Radislav) Vaisman Lecturer 67-450 53264 r.vaisman@uq.edu.au
Professor Ole Warnaar Chair and Professor in Pure Mathematics 67-744 53487 o.warnaar@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Ian Wood Lecturer 67-755 56139 i.wood1@uq.edu.au
Dr Wen-Hsi Yang 69--814A 56138 w.yang@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Yao-Zhong Zhang Reader 69-702 53256 yzz@maths.uq.edu.au