ANITA Workshop 2013

We would like to invite you to attend the 7th Theory Workshop organised by the Australian National Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (ANITA), to be held on the 21st and 22nd of February 2013 at the School of Mathematics and Physics of the University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia.

As with previous workshops, the main aims are:

  • to provide a review of Theoretical Astrophysics in Australia and a platform for current research
  • to facilitate collaboration between theorists and observers
  • to promote a sense of community among theoretical astrophysicists
  • to educate students and enhance their opportunities in the Australian and international community

There will also be an inaugural invited talk from Professor Lawrence Krauss. He will be giving an review talk outlining his perspective on the state of astrophysics theory.

The meeting is open to everyone, you do not need to be a member of ANITA or the ASA to attend (though we encourage you to join!), and we especially invite students to attend and contribute talks. Approximately 15-20 minutes will be allocated for each oral presentation. There will be no formal proceedings, but contributions will be available on the web after the workshop. The registration fee is AUD 55, though this will be waived for students. Morning and afternoon tea and lunch will be provided.

The closing date for registration is 30th January 2013.

There will be a social dinner on Thursday evening at a local restaurant, to be paid for by the participant on the night. We expect the cost of the dinner to be AUD 35, with drinks as extra. Please indicate when registering if you will be attending.

Alongside the conference will be two public talks.  The first is an evening talk by Lawrence Krauss at 6.30pm on Wednesday 20th February (details and registration)  and the second is a lunchtime talk by Brian Schmidt, at 12.30pm Thursday 21st February (details and registration).  Both are intended for students and the general public, but workshop participants are welcome to attend if there is space.

Looking forward to seeing you in Brisbane!

The SOC (David Parkinson (chair), Tamara Davis,  Holger Baumgardt and Signe Riemer-Sorensen) and the LOC (Tamara Davis, David Parkinson, Anthea King and Joel Pfeffer).
Contact email: